Venom

Came across this in a post search an thought it would make a nice Background for the desktop

2018       Tom Hardy,  Michelle Williams, Riz Ahmed     114 minutes

So we start with an  inbound spaceship breaking up on re-entry and falls in I think it was Malaysia. Some how one astronaut survives or seems so. Set in San Francisco Eddie Brock for those of you that do not know the comics (which I don’t) is a reporter  and does ‘The Brock Report’. He does investigative journalism and tries to get the story no matter what. Well that one hunch and one mistake (and reason to NEVER give, even those you trust your passwords DON’T DO IT!)

Scientist Carlton Drake who owns the previously mentioned spaceship, as well as Brock’s television company and the Law agency (or was a client of) Brock’s Girlfriend (played by Michelle Williams) works for. This is one of those people who has been playing with science too much and has too much money that he apparently has a god complex.

This looks like it might be some early work up for a poster

“For a Smart guy, You’re a Dumbass”

The movie is weak until Brock enters the facility where Drake is testing the Symbiote samples that were brought back from space.

Now when Venom first ‘infects’ Eddie its funny to see hardy’s motions. I wonder if he was doing that of his own accord, or if there were a few wires for the jerky motions. When venom first speaks to him I nearly died.. Tom Hardy screamed like a girl! And Venom does NOT like to be called a parasite.  One of the funny parts is Eddie telling Drake

I spent some time with one of these things up my ass….

but If I go on it would be a MAJOR spoiler (highlight below if you really want to know)

then there’s the ” so many organs line as well..”  which honestly made me hungry. 

All in all I wasn’t expecting much of it, I just thought those teeth needed to be appreciated this time of year. While I haven’t read the comics I’d have to say the Venom look is iconic and very memorable, and this carnivorous symbiote got the right month to be released. Its no avengers, ironman, or captain America movie but it is different for the MCU (if this is considered being part of it) its dark, but entertaining. There’s a car chase which is one of my favorite scenes of the movie. I would say you are safest going for a matinee or discount day that way you do get what you pay for. For a split second I even thought to just wear all black and do my face like venom (but sadly all I have is a set of Vampire fangs so I’ll have to maybe try finding Venom teeth for next Halloween to hand out treats)

You know I think for once I understood Tom Hardy throughout a movie, in the past I swear he was mumbling so it was hard for me to understand him; this time he didn’t seem to mumble like he usually does. As far as Hardy as Venom I don’t have a problem with him but I can’t think of someone else  that I feel would ‘say’ Venom when I’d see their face.  Ok I did think of one person…maybe Jeffery Dean Morgan? But that’s because I was watching Walking Dead earlier so…. what do you think? Are you happy with Tom Hardy, do you think JDM would be a good (human) face for Venom? Who do you think should have  played the character?

 

and yes there are 2 Easter Eggs!

If you liked this review make a donation to support the blog & Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

“He’s got one of the things up his ass”    Drake is the RIOT symbiote and he’s an ugly mother but has cool battle axes.  

Easter egg #1: San Quentin Prison Woody Harrelson in prison and why is he kinda looking like Ronald McDonald? And OMG I thought so who’s this …… now I have no idea how I knew the name but my assumption is correct as I looked up the name I thought and boom! CARNAGE

Easter Egg #2 A headache inducing cartoon oh I’m sorry animated Spider-man ‘in another universe’ which has more than one (spider man)and some other character with purple in the suit, and 3 points for is collar.  I couldn’t find it via search nor even find it on Marvel HQ because I don’t know the name. I don’t know if its a villain (which I suppose) or hero.

Venom Ending & Credits scenes Explained      &  Every VENOM Easter Egg & Marvel Secret You Missed

Venom’ sets October box office record with $80M, ‘Star Is Born’ nabs $42.6M

‘Venom’: Why the Symbiotes Come to Earth Revealed

Venom VFX Supervisor Details the Movie’s New Origin for Symbiotes

VENOM espn New Mascot Spot

and let’s get back on track wit…

Venom’s Tie-In Comic Reveals Surprising Movie Secrets

One thought on “Venom

Praise, rants & Rage reply here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.