Coulrophobia and Fata Morgana by Jacob M. Appel

Coulrophobia & Fata Morgana

So what is Coulrophobia?

 it is a fear of clowns. The term is of recent origin, probably dating from the 1980s, and according to one analyst, “has been coined more on the Internet than in printed form because it does not appear in any previously published, psychiatric, unabridged, or abridged dictionary.”  Coulrophobia – Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Considering the upcoming AHS season and It due in theaters I think in September this is certainly a great word vocabulary word to teach. (Honestly each week or month there should be a phobia in vocabulary for class)

& Fata Morgana

A FataMorgana is an unusual and complex form of superior mirage that is seen in a narrow band right above the horizon. It is the Italian name for the Arthurian sorceress Morgan le Fay, from a belief that these mirages, often seen in the Strait of Messina, were fairy castles in the air or false land created by her witchcraft to lure sailors to their death. Fata Morgana (mirage) – Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

I’ve read Jacob’s previous book, as I had signed up to win a free copy on Goodreads. I didn’t win but Jacob sent one to me to read and review.  Towards the end of 2016, I received this book I didn’t even sign up for anything. I just dropped Jacob a message to say thank you and I’d get to it in 2017 as I already had my reading list planned.

There are 10 short stories in this anthology the first is titled

The Butcher’s Music

Rita is a butcher shop owner and butcher herself,  her sister Tammy plays cello an the sisters have not seen each other in 3 years.  Rita has a sort of boyfriend that works next door from her shop. Tammy drops a bomb that she’s coming for a visit but the bomb is really what she reveals to Rita as to why she needs help.

 

The Punishment

Read 4 1/2 pages so far but may have to re-read that as I don’t remember a thing of what I read

There’s a character named Patzi and I think she has a son who just got in formal trouble with the law

 

Pollen

I already forget this story and what its about… and its only been a day or 2 since I read it… Yet I can remember the gist of the previous 2.

 

Boundaries

So I’m writing this up right after I finish the story.. There’s Artie Kimmel who along with a partner is pro0tecting the U.S. Canadian board. Its Christmas (or xmas eve) and the past many years they’ve had the tradition of being on together and watching holiday movies as its normally a slow night. Tonight is a snowglobe of falling and blowing snow when a car pulls up and the person inside seems to have smallpox.

 

Coulrophobia

So a mime rents an apartment and the landlord makes mime pun jokes. The Mime I think his name was. Being the parents could only afford for the boy to go to some community thing that was free Simon made a Mime camp just for the boy. Teaching him all sort of things, eventually he teaches the step mother as well. the moral of the story is basically you’ll be all alone if you are jealous and Prejudice (if you want to call it that)

Not big on this one, I did not find it interesting and frankly a bit of a scare or joke would have been nice to break up the monotony of the story (and I don’t mean the landlord’s lame mime jokes)

 

Saluting the Magpie

What peeves me more than parents that don’t pay attention to their kids is ones that freak out over the littlest (and most common) things like things er phases  that babies have gone though for  decades.

Calliope swallows a penny on her mother Gillian’s watch. First off, I’m 50% sure that since coins have been around,  babies have been swallowing them. at least once. There’s an age they get grabby, another they ‘eat’ things sometimes these happen at the same time.  I’ve swallowed pennies…yes plural… as a child but my mother said she put her fingers down my throat and got them out herself.  The woman in this book is wound too tight to be a mother, she needs one of my anti-anxiety  pills I take when I feel one coming on, basically and literally “a chill pill’

Quite honestly I wanted to smack her in the face for the hysterics, and the husband doesn’t say a word to defend himself when she’s blaming HIM for HER slack baby watching. Honestly why wasn’t the baby in the playpen?  Where/what as she doing when the baby ate it? I feel the husband’s frustration and want to yell at her for him!

Fata Morgana

a couple that lives countries apart, one in the states the other I think was Denmark or Norway. They marry and spend their honeymoon in Iceland. At this point that all I can remember besides the husband hurting his leg and the wife having some serious Nicotine withdrawal

Hearth and Home

a friendly affair, of culture and loneliness and a laugh at the end.

 

Counting

2 people working for the Census bureau go out to the desert to do their thing with 2 people who don’t want to exist.  The husband builds with playing cards so, they make a deal if he can build to the rafter of the house without it falling, then the Census get’s their answers, if it doesn’t fall then they go away otherwise then they get the information they are there for.

 

Silent Theology

Some reverend’s dead wife is cheating on him with Greta Garbo. Sort of funny in a morbid way, yet if I were to analyze it (which I hate when people do) to what it might be a metaphor for, I’d say senility, dementia etc.  The daughters are awful one a fanatic the other leans away from the family’s beliefs etc.

 

 

I think the best 2 stories were The Butcher’s Music and Boundaries. Also I can remember Counting quite well as well.

Praise, rants & Rage reply here

