Strange but True VAMPIRES from Beyond the Grave – Rowan Wilson

Vampires: Blood Suckers from Beyond the Gravewith a copyrite in the 1990s

“What is a vampire” The theoretical start of this book asks. It covers mostly the metaphoric sort rather than the fictional.  It goes through some old cases more of superstition because at the time the decay rate was not known as it is now, it then goes into that its a type of possession (oh so wait I’m possessed not Obsessed?)

The book in the chapter ‘Monsters of the carpathians covers the story of Vlad Dracul and Elizabeth Bathory however I am not sure how reliable this book is as some of the 2 stories sound different to what I’ve read once before but there is also additional information that I had not read before either so I’m not sure about this book.  Then there’s the chapter on Vampire murderers Vincenz Verenzi, Peter Kurten, Fritz Haarmann, and Wayne Boden  and the flesh eaters Jeffery Dahmer and Issei Sagawa. as I said it’s more along the lines of the metaphoric vampire of blood lust, sex or drug addiction.

There’s also a quick look ay vampire in Fiction with the original Vampyr and Varney the Vampire: Feast of Blood. (Both of which I have on my kindle to get to.. Varney as it was part of the Penny Dreadfuls clocks in at 800 something pages) as well as Dracula which put the vampire story on the map. There’s also vampires in Film as well. There’s also miscellany facts strewn through out the book in boxes

The writing is decent enough but I feel some of the information is repeated so I would get a little confused thinking I was re-reading the same thing over. Maybe they didn’t take such good notes, (or couldn’t read them so well) Otherwise I got through it just fine. It was an interesting read if all the facts were right (even the variations in the stories of Vlad and Bathory.

It’s a short read

Praise, rants & Rage reply here

