Extraordinary Tales

2015  Not Rated  1:13   Narrated by  Christopher Lee, Bela Lugosi, Julian Sands, Guillermo del Toro, Cornelia Funke, Stephen Hugues, and Roger Corman

 

On opening it looks like Burtonesque origami! Turns out it’s tales from Edgar Allen Poe (no wonder I ordered it!)

A Crow flies on screen with the statue and as it later says ad I quote

 

“What am I doing reciting poetry with a statue…I must be drunk”

 

my cat is watching the crow oops or being as this is Edgar Allen Poe… I should say Raven on the screen intently!

Each story seems to be animated in a different style which I like, as it would also help with the tone of the story.

 

  • The fall of the house of Usher you certainly cannot mistake the voice of Christopher Lee.
  • The Tell Tale Heart- this one narrated by Dracula’s Bela Lugosi and there’s definitely no mistaking his voice either. This in was done in the noir (or something like) style. Now this is the way I wouldn’t mind a story being told to me. If tupac and Michael jackson can be resurrected via hologram I know there are programs that can work with a voice clip to fix or dub over dialog mistakes in movies (at least now) … any chance we can get this to be done for some stories on audible? THEN I might be willing to pay the extra bit to have a story told to me.
  • The facts int he case of M. valdemar  is narrated byJulian Sands and done in the style of an old comic strip style it reminds me of the colors and such of  the Prince Valient comic strips. And My word one of the characters look like it was inspired by Vincent Price, (or very similar) I would swear it WAS VP if it weren’t an animation.
  • The Pit and the Pendulum    voiced by Guillermo del Toro  is done in a style like some of the video games. Now a lot of the time video game graphics are so good that when I first (or firstfew times) I see it I think its a trailer for a movie and the people are real then at some point during the tailer or after seeing it 3-5 times it clicks its a video game.   Its done in a realistic way yet not.
  • The mask of the Red Death  this looks like it was done with water color or chalk but aside from the art I didn’t care for this one at all. I don’t know if it was the narration or the story itself, or maybe it was the style it was animated in (or the effect of all of it overall)

 

Can kids watch it… that’s for you to decide though after reading the stories, I would definitely (if I was a teacher) have my students watch this.

Praise, rants & Rage reply here

