Great Wall

2017  PG-13 action adventure fantasy  Matt Damon, Tian Jing, Willem  Dafoe, Pedro Pascal

For a movie called the great wall, I found a lack of posters without it in it. It’s mostly just the actors with the text(maybe a small fore-image or background image of the wall.  If there are any (They are from China and those countries, a few I’ve seen but they are more art than an image from the movie.)

So I was sea-sawing on the decision to see this. I got an email from Showcase cinemas that if you had a star pass and bought a ticket for the movie, you get a FREE!!! Popcorn AND! drink!!! made the decision for me! My dad wanted to see it as well so we went and had ‘daddy daughter’ time.  For a sort of last minute decision, we quite enjoyed it.

The movie is about one of the legends of the Great Wall, as well as the army that protects it. a couple of mercenaries in search of black powder (gun powder)  end up attacked by some creature and are able to kill it. They end up helping the colorful army defend the wall against some monstrous creatures.

The army is a color coded menagerie of  warriors. Red archers,  Yellow foot soldiers and my favorite the Blue Crane corps, amde up of all women who ‘fly’. They are like a fighting Cirque du Soleil.

They have been in preparation for the return of some creatures, I forget… were they called tregarts? (or was that something from harry potter?)

I enjoyed the action, actors,  the story as a whole even the slightly humorous parts. Oh those creatures are called Tao Tie.

So through the story these creatures adapt fast, are really smart, and eat EVERYTHING! They are the reason the wall was said to be built. Every 60 years they come back to feed their queen, likely wiping out all life.

My apologies for the late post not sure why I got so behind but I’m glad I saw it in the theater, as I don’t think it would have had the same affect on  me with our tv. (for me the tv would have to be the size of the wall!) But definitely worth a watch

Even though it’s PG13 (I really can’t remember what language etc was in it) but I’d let my kids watch if I had them, or younger siblings. Still always best to watch first, you know what your kids can take. (Mine learned early, when I was 5 or 6… let your kid watch the end of Jaws, and nothing will scare them. Then when you forbid her to watch Lost Boys, records it on the VCR watches then yells at you why they weren’t aloud to because there was nothing in it she hadn’t already seen in other movies or tv shows. Or heard out of others mouths that’s usually when you just let them be!)

There are I think 2-3 types of the tao tie. One reminds me of a type of lizard with a pointy snout among other pointy things…. maybe like a monitor lizard but looks more amphibian. Then there are some that make me think of a frilled dragon, which apparently think they are Vikings They make a shield wall, well more like shield ball!

Man are those thing FUGLY!  It reminds me of one of the Pacific Rim Kaiju!

Their heads are more skull like, with a smile that will scare Jaws and even the largest dinosaur,  Hell maybe even Kong!

They look like a 4 legged piranha with eyes in their shoulders!

more on IMDB

Get the format you need on Amazon or watch on Amazon video

Scroll for a smile!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I saw this ‘smile’ and I’d swear my heart stopped. Maybe it just actually sort of scared me but that

would be terrifying to see in person!

What are the Taotie in the Great Wall? 

blackdrago.com/fame/taotieh.htm

Chinese mythology wiki

 

Praise, rants & Rage reply here

