Star Trek Beyond

2016   PG-13  Blu-ray      actions, adventure, sci-fi   stars  Chris Pine, Zachary Quinto, Zoe Saldana, Karl urban Simon Peg  et al

 

The opening scene is funny I’m guessing its supposed to be sort of like those fluffy tribbles (is that what they were called?)

These are some sort of Triceretops looking things (or at least what they make me think of)  They look so big while Captain Kirk is talking to them, then one stands in front of him and well… the scene escalates!

Wait did I just see a walking string bean? Oh they actually have some green aliens in this one!

The villain Krall reminds me of the Dark Elf from Thor:Dark World and sounds really familiar. I probably knew while filming was going on who it was, but I do like when I forget especially when they are in make-up and prosthetic it’s fun to guess. First I thought the really tall guy from Lost, then I was like, no can’t be as this guy isn’t the right height.

RIP Anton Yelchin     he looks different in this one some how.. like he was more muscular or something. (he didn’t look as scrawny as he did)

After an attack by Krall’s ‘killer bees’ (which remind me more of the way a certain type of a group of birds fly) we have the fall of the Enterprise who’s crew lands on various parts of what I’m calling ‘pumpkin Planet’ (too bad we couldn’t see more than one planet in a movie) though depending on the part the characters land, looks like a different planet each.

There’s a part or 2 where you can tell it’s a green screen with the characters pasted over it  one in which  captain Kirk & the Black and White alien (their backs to us) driving away.

This is definitely NOT the best of the 3! Though I can’t decide if I liked the first one or the one with Benedict Cumberbatch in it better. (however I  remember more of the sequel)

And again we get some of the ‘classics’ that Bones is so crazy about!  They ride the wave of the bee hive in a loud and distracting manor to sabotage it

The movie goes a little meta with a solo scene of Spock with some package out looking an a picture from one of the original casts. (I guess this was supposed to be a tribute to Leonard Nemoy’s passing.

Oh Simon Peg got a writing credit for this, could that be the reason it wasn’t that great?   I give it a big fat

D

http://www.timeout.com/london/film/star-trek-beyond (I think it’s a review)

IMDB

 

 

Praise, rants & Rage reply here

