The Boss

2016   R comedy   Melissa McCarthy, Kristen Bell 

Normally I can’t stand watching chick comedies cause they just aren’t funny. I ended up starting to watch this when nothing else was on…but something I do watch or wanted to was coming on maybe about half way through…

CEO Michelle Darnell is busted for insider trading, goes to jail and when released is bankrupt with no where to go and no family to stay with. She ends up on the couch of her former assistant.

So When it comes to Melissa McCarthy movies its seems for every 5 she makes one of them might actually be somewhat funny. Not sure who writes that one moderately funny one but really please we need more from you.

Normally I would have seen this coming but the couch bed…not sure why I didn’t expect that to happen, but it got a laugh outta me.

I can’t figure out what is with her and the turtlenecks. First of all, her chin is too small to even bother with a full one. (She should be wearing a crew neck) It just looks so stupid (and not funny) to me, She looks like a floating decapitated head (that is the ONLY thing funny about that gag if it’s supposed to be)  at least give us a reason why she wears them like that, then maybe it’ll be funny or least bit amusing.

So do you remember the trailer with the ‘Dandelions’ (Girl scouts like troop) well that was a bit funny. It just looked very odd to see ‘Girl Scouts’ in a rumble. The best part was something Darnell promised the annoying mom at the meeting….I’ll jsut say ‘butt clusters’  for a clue.

Now there’s a part (the Bra scene) that I wouldn’t think was funny but actually found so, maybe because it went a little long to start to feel sort of awkward.

 

I’m so surprised the movie actually made me laugh more than once. Maybe it was the physical ‘slap stick’  parts that came off funny rather than the actual verbal jokes.

So unlike most, as it did give me a few laughs (as usually a chick comedy if lucky only usually gives me one Ha!) I’m going to give it a bonus plus!

Oh yeah and by the way, I watched the whole movie instead of flipping over to my show! So there’s a compliment for ya.

C+    buy or watch on Amazon

Praise, rants & Rage reply here

