House of Wax / Mystery of the Wax Museum

So this was a double feature disk.

I watched the 1953 House of Wax starring Vincent Price first. This was one of  (if not) the first 3D films ever made!

Vincent Price plays Henry Jerrod the creepy curator of a wax museum after a fire ruins his hands, he turns to a morbid alternative for making the sculptures.  The movie is a remake of the 1933 Mystery of the Wax Museum. Of the two I liked House of Wax better as the 1933 movie just felt overly dramatic to me  yet it wasn’t even a silent film (for some reason I just can’t take those)  also Vincent Price’s Henry Jerrod is memorable unlike, whoever it was that played the curator of the original.

Fay Wray  played Charlotte a reporter which is really the only character I can remember, but not sure if it’s for a good reason or not.

While I find the 1953 remake the better as I mentioned, honestly as bad as the 2005 remake for that was that starred Chad Michael Murray and Paris Hilton let’s just say in a way I prefer to watch the more recent one and I’ll just say if You do not like Paris Hilton (this was when for some reason still unknown to me, she was popular for just being an heiress I guess?) You might want to watch this just for the reason I do. Otherwise, watch Vincent Price’s version. It’s worth the time.

 

Thank you to   Jo_Wass  for the comment I am including here

“To answer your unspoken question: No, House of Wax wasn’t the first 3D film ever made, that honour goes to mystery radio pioneer and film maker Arch Oboler, who released independent movie The Bwana Devil in the end of 1952. The second 3D movie was actually a Soviet musical called Aleko, released January 1, 1953. If I’m not mistaken, the second US film in 3D was Columbia’s Man in the Dark, directed by Lew Landers, which premiered on April 8, 1953. House of Wax was released two days later, making it the third US 3D film, and the first one released by a major studio.”

 

2 responses to “House of Wax / Mystery of the Wax Museum

  1. To answer your unspoken question: No, House of Wax wasn’t the first 3D film ever made, that honour goes to mystery radio pioneer and film maker Arch Oboler, who released independent movie The Bwana Devil in the end of 1952. The second 3D movie was actually a Soviet musical called Aleko, released January 1, 1953. If I’m not mistaken, the second US film in 3D was Columbia’s Man in the Dark, directed by Lew Landers, which premiered on April 8, 1953. House of Wax was released two days later, making it the third US 3D film, and the first one released by a major studio.

    Like

    • Thank you it’s that last part I couldn’t remember. I had heard it before but could not remember to what degree.But as said… Was One of if not the first.
      Thank you, and would love to have you on for doing this sort of thing if you wouldn’t mind…

      Liked by 1 person

Praise, rants & Rage reply here

