The Martian

2015     PG13    Matt Damon, Sebastian Stan, Jessica Chastain, Michael Pena, Jeff Daniels, Kristen Wiig

Astronaut Mark Watney  is abandoned on Mars by his crew thinking he is a casualty of a dust storm.  Upon waking, he has no coms, only 28 days of supplies left  and must find a way to survive the planet’s harsh environment.

Upon seeing the trailers, I thought this was going to be a bore, especially being as I think it had lots of Oscar noms. I don’t normally watch those sort of movies (not on purpose anyway) as for me they may start off interesting, then they just lose my interest or I just end up falling asleep while watching them.

I’m surprised this wasn’t a complete bore! as for one a guy on Mars I thought what could they do to actually keep it interesting for about 2 hours? I found it to be just the right amount of ‘Mark’s Mars doings as well as  he crew and the NASA office. I wouldn’t say there’s action to it other than the planting, mechanics and other activities of Botanist Watney, or those running around to get a rescue going.

The movie was surprisingly both interesting and enjoyable and I can’t believe it but It gets a

 

B

You can order any format here via Amazon 

Praise, rants & Rage reply here

