Doctor Who: The Drosten’s Curse

I started this 26th October and it has taken me I’d bet a full month to get through as I finished it on November 28th.

I wasn’t able to gain any momentum in reading it, as the writing or the typos the editor missed (unless the person self edited which is never a good thing) ruined any as I was getting into it.

The story was about a being that was and at the same time was not physical. It fed off the negative thoughts of the people in the surrounding area, this creature s the Bah-Zokar. The creature is in the golf course (great place for negative thoughts and emotions). When an elderly woman was young she found the egg which looked like a golf ball but without the dimples.

After reading this I much prefer to watch Doctor Who rather than read another book especially if it’s from the same author A.J. Kenned.  The writing was not well at the beginning and did not flow well (and likely the reason it took me so long to read it.) and that’s with excusing the typos I ended up re-reading for the fact I thought I read it wrong.

To me just like some book to movie adaptations do not work, tv to book does not always transfer well. I know it also depending on the writing of the author. For instance:

I read a book from the Supernatural series, and it was as though the writers of the show wrote the book itself. I was wishing for the story from the book to be an actual episode, it was written so well. (there’s one other of the supernatural series books I was interested in reading as well I need to find)  now I don’t know if its on particular author that writes the books or a variety (like how there can be different directors for each episode of a TV show, but maybe that should be the case that only one author writes the stories or the person who does the writing for the show give a quick read to see if it translates well or not (like how J.K. Rowling had say in much of the Harry Potter movies).

Another thing I wasn’t crazy about was though it seems as though it was the Doctor who I call Doctor Scarf… I’ve seen a picture or even a clip or 2 of the actor as Doctor Who but I’m only familiar with Matt Smith and Peter Capaldi (and some of David Tennant’s) Doctor. To me the cover should note  in some way that its the scarf doctor (not everyone reads the back covers especially when many end up only having blurbs about the book and not what it’s about. The back of this book doesn’t even give any hint as to which form of the Doctor it is. While reading I kept switching between seeing Capaldi then it would refer to the Doctor’s scarf and then I’d go back to a blurry image of a figure with the scarf or even funnier Capaldi in the Scarf!!

for me at least there should have been a warning which it was, because though the Doctor can travel through time and space… I cannot and was born in the 70s and our Cable just started carrying BBCAmerica a few years ago. So to me this came as a little outdated for the use of I think he’s the 4th doctor the one with the scarf .

Aside from getting through the first half of the book, the last at some point became more readable, though not sure about smooth.

For those that take their time or just reading during commercials, in waiting rooms, or in the Bathroom this book is fine, and for those that are just die hard Whovians.

 

You can also check out my updates for it on Goodreads

I received this book complimentary from Blogging for Books to read and review

More INfo  * Author Bio

2 responses to “Doctor Who: The Drosten’s Curse

  1. Pingback: 2015 Library on the Fly | Multi-screen MO-T-Vision

Praise, rants & Rage reply here

